thoughts

It looks like this blog is not going to have an amazing success! Why? People don’t want to share ideas? In a research-driven world, it’s safe. It’s a little sad, though, because our caucus members are very different from one another and everyone could benefit from hearing from others. We have students, teachers, teacher educators, people in K-12, people in higher ed, people in IEPs, native speakers of English and nonnative speakers of English, people from all kinds of cultures, languages, countries… I looked at TESOL’s statistics, recently, and was amazed at how few members are from outside the US and Canada. We might be the caucus with the highest number of international members. At least we should be.

So, we need to share our thoughts and ideas on how to work on this. Maybe not ideas about presentations, since we don’t want other people to use our original ideas, write the same proposal, and compete against us. But we could share thoughts about this caucus, what we like about it and don’t like, what it should do and doesn’t, what we want to make it, how it could better serve its members, who we are and what we do, etc. I receive letters from people from all over the world who are obviously members of this caucus and I can’t put a face to their names, I don’t know if I’ve already met them, and I don’t know if I ever will. I wish I knew who everyone is, and I wish you did, too.

Anyway, enough rambling for today. I think I’ll come here from time to time and just talk to myself and to whomever comes around here. Here’s a picture of me, for those who have never met me at a conference, with my brother, who lives in Switzerland, the sister who lives in Italy, and the sister who lives in Michigan. That was last year in Paris. I’m the one with the reddish hair. Send me your picture and a little bit about yourself if you want, and I’ll put it here.

 

4 thoughts on “thoughts

  1. aiden

    Hi there,Apologies for not being so active lately. I’ve been busy with school, wrapping things up- now that we’re on our last week of school. But I still have to take care of grading a listening and speaking test for an admission test that we gave this week. Anyway, I read your message and this statement caught my attention, “Maybe not ideas about presentations, since we don’t want other people to use our original ideas, write the same proposal, and compete against us.” You know, Lucie, I think, this is the very culprit why people hesitate to ‘share’. I also find this to be true among taiwanese teachers. Having said that, I am beginning to think that this is not a cultural thing. It happens everywhere and to all of us. It’s part of being human. People are willing to share for as long as it they deem it safe and productive. However, people also tend to protect themselves and their personal interests, as well. Just like what you said about competing with each other. If you let your guards down, there is always that fear that others may take advantage of the situation [vulnerability or whatever that is].aidenp.s.you’re doing a good job Lucie, keep it up 😉

    Reply
  2. lucie

    thanks Aiden, it’s nice to have a little feedback here 🙂 and I hope you’ll try writing too… I feel like I’m speaking to the walls sometimes… it’s an interesting feeling 🙂

    Reply
  3. Buthaina al-Othman

    Hi Lucie, and Aiden,I’m so sorry that I’ve completely forgotten about our blog, 😦 I actually wanted to comment at the article posted by Aiden,”Fully Qualified, but Still Marginalized”; unfortunately, it came during the same week I left home and this is why I forgot.Anyway, I’m back home now and would do my best to spare sometime to check this blog.And I agree with Aiden, you are doing great job, Lucie, so please keep it up,and don’t give up on us, 🙂Best wishes,Buth

    Reply
  4. lucie

    Hi Buth, it’s nice to see you here 🙂 You can write too, just follow the “directions” in the right menu and tell us something fun, interesting, exciting, strange…i think a lot of people are on vacation now, so it’s normal that this blog is a little slow now, it’ll get more exciting in the fall! come back soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

